CWOW 2021 Stations of the Cross Audioguide – Racial Reckoning

 In News, Sermons, Virtual CWOW

CWOW 2021 Stations of the Cross Audioguide – Racial Reckoning: You may walk the stations in your home or outside. If you are going out on a shorter walk, consider listening to the introduction before leaving home. Images for the meditation are linked here. If you want to skip directly to the Stations of the Cross meditation skip to 5:50 and is 41 minutes long. Stream below, or download as a podcast here.


Feel free to break the audioguide up if you need to. Following are the starting points for each station in the audioguide:

Station 1- 6:30 (Jesus Is Condemned To Death; Ps.35:7-9)

Station 2- 9:35 (Jesus Carries The Cross; Ps.109:1-5)

Station 3- 12:25 (Jesus Falls For The First Time; Ps.38:15-16, 18-19) 

Station 4- 15:00 (Jesus Meets His Mother; Ps.77:4-6)

Station 5- 17:05 (Simon The Cyrene Helps Jesus Carry His Cross; Ps.81:7-9)

Station 6- 19:40 (Veronica Wipes The Face Of Jesus; Ps.40:12-13)

Station 7- 21:40 (Jesus Falls For The Second Time; Ps.56:2-5)

Station 8- 24:45 (Jesus Consoles The Women Of Jerusalem; Lam.2:18-19)

Station 9- 27:45 (Jesus Falls For The Third Time; Lam.3:16-18)

Station 10- 29:35 (Jesus Is Stripped Of His Garments; Lam.3:1-4a, 5-7)

Station 11- 32:35 (Jesus Is Nailed To The Cross; Lam.3:11-15)

Station 12- 35:50 (Jesus Dies On The Cross; Ps.22:15-19)

Station 13- 38:35 (The Body Of Jesus Is Taken Down From The Cross; Ps.22:7-12)

Station 14- 41:15 (The Body Of Jesus Is Laid In The Tomb; Ps.88:6-9)

Station 15- 44:00 (Jesus Rises From The Dead; Lam.3:21-26)


In this audioguide, we walk the Way of the Cross by focusing on racial reckoning through the ancient practice of lamentation.

What is lamentation or ‘lament’? Why do we pray this way? What is its purpose?

Lament is a way of praying by crying out to God and expressing deep pain. But it is much more than complaining to God, or even expressing deep sorrow.

Lament is also a form of praise. When we look to the Book of Psalms, we see that Israel asks God to answer according to His unfailing love, because He is a God of justice and righteousness, and because He has been faithful in the past. Lament is a form of praise because we appeal to God to act based on His unfailing love, faithfulness and justice.

Lament can be a pathway to intimacy with God. When we render our hearts and honestly express our pain and condition to God, it reinforces and strengthens our bonds of intimacy with Him. Indeed, it is our response to God, our expression of continuing relationship with Him, after He first called us.

Lastly, lament is one way to bear witness to the pain of our sisters, brothers and neighbors. Bearing witness moves beyond mere spectatorship by first listening to one another’s stories, then holding those stories within ourselves, and finally allowing those stories to penetrate our reality and move our bodies in appeal to God.


Stabat Mater- translation 

This is the traditional musical entry into each station. It represents the experience of Mary, the Mother of Jesus, as she accompanies her suffering son. She represents mother, disciple and the Church who is charged with bearing Christ into the world.



Content consultation: Deacon Charles Rohrbacher, JJ Hansen

Scripture Reading: Hank Lee

Reflections and Prayers written and read: Lynn Tang Lee

Stabat Mater Gregorian Chant: Singers Unknown 

Original Music (sung at the end): Hans Ashlock

Audio editing: Noa Henthorn-Iwane

Inspiration and input: Community and staff of Church Without Walls, Berkeley, USCCB Model, Chicago Franciscans Model

Guide: Sharon Henthorn-Iwane 


Recent Posts

Leave a Comment

Start typing and press Enter to search